Northampton Town

Area Improvement Partnership

Contact Peter Burrell, AIP Permanent Secretary

AIP c/o The Duston School, Berrywood Road, Duston, Northampton, NN5 6XA

Northampton Town AIP Ltd

User login

Northampton Town AIP Ltd is registered in England & Wales No. 7362429

VAT Registration No. 133 0660 50

The Northampton Town Area Improvement Partnership (AIP) is a schools' partnership across all education settings across Northampton Town, together with the Local Authority and other key stakeholders in the Northampton Community, including the University of Northampton and Northampton College.

The purpose of the AIP is:-

  • To provide a world class school system across the town that will ensure all of our children and young people have the skills, knowledge,                 experience and qualifications to live a fulfilled and prosperous life.
  • To provide a local and national lead in school improvement work
  • To work together as a learning community to improve educational provision for children and young people.
  • To integrate children's services at a local level so that barriers to progress for children, young people and their families are reduced or eliminated.

We are building capacity at school level through our partnership working using the knowledge, experience and skills of the community of schools and our partners. We are recognising and celebrating our achievements and jointly taking responsibility for the success of the partnership.

To support and develop this work we have established 4 strands.

These are:-

  • Quality of Teaching (including English as an Additional Language (EAL), Transition from one setting to another, Drama for Writing and more) 
  • Literacy (Talk for Writing project) 
  • Attendance and Behaviour (including ongoing Extended Services and a Behaviour & Attendace Provision (BAP) Project) 
  • School to School Support  

Each Strand has a Steering Group which is led by Heads or Deputy Heads and supported by a range of senior colleagues from schools, LA and our partners.

The AIP has established a formal Legal Entity ‘Northampton Town AIP Ltd.’ which is the largest legal entity educationally in the world and as such commissions the services of other providers to get best value for money and thereby giving first class opportunities for young learners across the town. 

The AIP’s development and management is overseen by a Strategic Board, which is jointly chaired by Jane Herriman, Principal of The Duston School and Kay Gerrett, Headteacher of Cedar Road Primary School. This Group is made up of 5 Primary School Headteachers, 5 Secondary School Headteachers, a Nursery School Headteacher, a Special School Headteacher, Local Authority (LA) representatives and Higher and Further Education representatives.  

See below for a list of all Northampton Town AIP Schools:

Nursery School 


Camrose Nursery N/A
Gloucester Nursery
Parklands Nursery N/A
Wallace Road Nursery
Whitehills Nursery N/A 

Primary Schools

Abington Vale Primary
All Saints CEVA Primary N/A
Barry Primary
Blackthorn Primary N/A
Boothville Primary
Briar Hill Primary N/A
Bridgewater Primary
Castle Primary N/A
Cedar Road Primary
Chiltern Primary N/A
Delapre Primary N/A
Duston Eldean Primary
Earl Spencer Primary N/A
East Hunsbury Primary
Eastfield Primary & Nursery
Ecton Brook Primary Ecton Brook site
Ecton Brook Primary Bellinge Site
Green Oaks Primary N/A 
Headlands Primary
Hopping Hill Primary
Hunsbury Park Primary
Kings Heath Primary N/A
Kingsley Primary
Kingsthorpe Grove Primary
Kingsthorpe Village Primary
Lings Primary N/A
Lumbertubs Primary N/A 
Lyncrest Primary N/A
Millway Primary N/A
Parklands Primary N/A
Queen Eleanor Primary
Rectory Farm Primary
Simon De Senlis Primary
Spring Lane Primary N/A
St Andrew's CEVA Primary N/A
St Gregory's Catholic Primary N/A 
St James CEVA Primary N/A
St Luke's CEVA Primary
St Mary's Catholic Primary N/A
Standens Barn Primary N/A
Stimpson Avenue Primary N/A
Sunnyside Primary N/A
The Abbey Primary N/A
The Arbours Primary
The Good Shepherd Primary
Thorplands Primary N/A
Vernon Terrace Primary N/A
Weston Favell CEVA Primary
Whitehills Primary
Woodvale Primary

Secondary Schools

Abbeyfield School
Kingsthorpe College
Malcolm Arnold Academy (Church of England)
Northampton Academy
Northampton School for Boys
Northampton School for Girls
The Duston School
Thomas Becket Catholic School
Weston Favell School

Special Schools

Billing Brook (Pri+Sec) N/A
Fairfields (Pri)
Greenfields School (Sec) N/A
Kings Meadow School (Pri)
Northgate  School  (Sec)






Web Design by 1PCS© Northampton Town Area Improvement Partnership 2011